My very own quarterlife crisis

Unemployed Girl

Kazimir Malevich's - Unemployed Girl (1904)

During the second year of my career I was going through a strange period, filled with anxiety, uncertainty and a very random turmoil of thoughts and disappointments. I didn’t know what I was so confused about, my first thought was that I was going through midlife crisis, but I was too young for a midlife crisis, 24 isn’t even close to midlife.. after some research and reading I found out what was wrong with me; I was going through a quarter-life crisis -yes it does exists, no I didn’t come up with the term- Abby Wilner did when she graduated college moved back home and didn’t know what to do with her life.

For me, quarter-life crisis hit me when I realized I’m barely in touch with my university friends anymore, I lost track of time, I only hangout with a very limited group of people, I haven’t seen my family in weeks and the money I make is all spent on shoes..

Wikipedia identifies quarter-life crisis as:

The quarterlife crisis is a term applied to the period of life immediately following the major changes of adolescence, usually ranging from the early twenties to the early thirties. The term is named by analogy with mid-life crisis.

The first book to identify this phenomenon was Quarterlife Crisis, the Unique Challenges of Life in your Twenties (Tarcher, 2001), coauthored by Abby Wilner and Alexandra Robbins

Some of the aspects of quarter-life crisis:

  • disappointment with one’s job
  • nostalgia for university, college, high school or elementary school life
  • tendency to hold stronger opinions
  • boredom with social interactions
  • loss of closeness to high school and college friends

There are many emotional and financial aspects of quarter-life crisis, for me it was a re-evaluation of all interpersonal relationships and realizing how so many of these relationships I was  maintain throughout college were actually meaningless, instead of juggling too many social relationships I decided to only invest in the meaningful relationship I have, a full-time job, family, a full-time boyfriend and a meaningful social life is more than enough for any person to have a healthy and happy life.

You can learn more about your quarter-life crisis here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quarter_life_crisis

Is this something you can relate to? or is it just me?

6 responses to “My very own quarterlife crisis

  1. I think it`s a transitional phase, some experience it with hardship some not, some go through it quickly -even w/o realizing they did!- some takes a longer path.

    For me it was quick; being in the same school for over 10 years helped a lot: same friends, same a lot of things🙂.

    Even in university there werea bunch of us and also after grad. some of us ended up in similar close jobs/sectors.

    Hope u r out of it by now🙂.

    Lastly, I`d like to blv it makes u stronger, in a way or another.

    H.

    • well now that I’m over it – happy and satisfied with my life and what I’ve become, I do feel that it was a quick transition, but at that time when I was trying to juggle everything it was quite frustrating and confusing..

      Glad to hear you didn’t go through some rough years.. and yes it does make you stronger and more focused.

  2. Yeah, what doesn`t break u, makes u stronger🙂.
    Nice blog, I`m snoopin` around and likin` it🙂.

    H.

  3. I think a friend of mine can relate! He was upset that he reached his mid twenties without ever drinking, taking drugs, or something else that I will not mention here! Pathetic imbeciles the youth of those days are! This what people here might say, but I think he have some point there!

    20’s are like 30’s just like 40’s, and 50’s, with new things added, other things pruned and may be cut away! But yes, I can understand the shock that we feel when we suddenly think about the past, and start comparing our old dreams with our new achievements!

    It is fine to succumb from time to time into a hole of mud! That would be fun and cooling! like piggys when they jump into one of those!

    Keep it up, and hit us with more and more recipes!

  4. Hi Haitham, thanks for visiting..

    your friend does have a point, once we hit our mid-twenties we become accountable of our stupid behavior, and stupid behavior is not so fun anymore..

    Hope you try some of these recipes🙂

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention My very own quarterlife crisis #Personality #Psychology #social | Blabbrgirl's Blog → -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

